What do you know now that you wished you knew then?

July 15, 2008

“I never thought there would be a place for me. I was always in a mild panic because I couldn’t see me in anyone around in the places I worked, and I couldn’t see where I might end up. It’s part of the challenge for creative people…to feel comfortable with where you’re going. Unfortunately, there’s no easy answer other than to perhaps try to be sensitive to where you are, what works and doesn’t work for you, and what brings the best out of you. Learn from it and use it to work out where the next step is. If you fix on objectives too far ahead you might discount opportunities that arise along the way, openings that could take you somewhere much more interesting and much more “you.” This of course can leave you a bit vulnerable to the “what do you want to be when you grow up?” question, but I’m afraid not having a good answer is something we just have to get used to living with.”

Nicolas Roope, Poke

I found this poking around Coroflot, and it’s exactly what I needed today. The rest of the interview can be found here, and he gives some fabulous advice.

Leave a Reply

