designing for yourself

May 24, 2008

When you start a design project, you begin by finding out all you can about the client. What they’re about, how they want to be portrayed, what they want the design to do for them. Which makes it easy to see why we’re so often thrown for a loop when the client is ourselves.

I’ve never been one of those people who has been blessed with unwavering confidence about exactly who they are and what they stand for. I have a working theory that maybe no one is, maybe some people are better at faking it. (But then, I may be telling myself that to make myself feel better.)

I’ve come to see this as not necessarily a bad thing. I enjoy the journey, as much stress as it causes me, and if we’re to believe the Sunscreen Song, “The most interesting people I know didn’t know at 22 what they wanted to do with their lives, some of the most interesting 40 year olds I know still don’t.” But it poses a problem when I have to design anything that’s supposed to represent who I am, exactly. I don’t really know who I am, “exactly.” What I want, “exactly.” I know what I who I am, what I want, “partially.” On good days, “mostly.” But it’s hard to feel confident about a “partially” inspired design.

Really, this is all just a roundabout way of saying that I will eventually stop using this standard wordpress theme and figure out one of my own, I promise.

Leave a Reply

